Nicely Rolls at Brownstown Speedway

Josh James Artwork

September 26, 2020 Brownstown Speedway ($2,000 to win)


(By Tyson Graves)

The Summit Racing Equipment American Modified Series round nine took place Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway. The event was part of the Forty-First Annual Jackson 100 weekend with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

In SPEC Racing Engines sponsored qualifying 45 Modifieds came to the Brownstown Speedway to take time in group qualifying. In Group A it was Curt Spalding who put down the fastest lap of 15.491 seconds to top the charts. The fastest lap overall came from Group B with defending AMS Champion Tyler Nicely turning a lap of 15.344 seconds. The final Group C was topped by Nick Hoffman with a lap of 15.548 seconds. This set the lineups for the four heat races that would begin to determine the nights feature event lineup.

Hypercoils heat race one went to group A fast qualifier Curt Spalding from Michigan. Dylan Woodling finished in the second spot. Brownstown regular Brayden Watson and current points runner up Danny Schwartz came home in third and fourth to transfer to the main event.

In the second heat race presented by Willy’s Carb & Dyno Adam Stricker picked up the win. Cole Falloway was runner up with Nick Allen and Brain Shaw also picking up transfer spots into the nights feature event.

In the Fast Shafts sponsored heat race three overall fast qualifier Tyler Nicely came out on top. Second place was John Clippinger and third Jacoby Hines. The fourth and final transfer to the feature was Levi Kissinger.

Final heat race of the night presented by AERO Wheels was won by Jordan Wever. Derek Groomer was second, Earl Plessinger third and Jacob Poel was fourth. The top four drivers all moved on to the nights main event.

It took a pair of pair of B-Mains to set the remainder of the starting field. John DeMoss and Cole Parker picked up the wins in the 12 lap events. Tony Anderson and Richard Gibson came home runner up in each race and transferred to the feature event.

After starting up front Tyler Nicely took the early lead. Tyler had won the Friday night feature, and nothing was different Saturday night as he pulled off the weekend sweep. Nicely took home the $2,000 payday and won his third feature of the weekend. Tyler is the defending champion of the American Modified Series and looks to make it back to back Championships as we close in on the end of the 2020 race season. Danny Schwartz holds on to second in points after a twelfth-place finish Saturday night. Mark Cole moved back up into the third place in points after the event at Brownstown Speedway.

The next event for the American Modified Series is the $2,000 to win show on October 24th at Florence Speedway. Stay informed with all the latest news and events from the series on their Facebook page or website

Full Results

Feature (30 Laps) 1) Tyler Nicely 2) Cole Falloway 3) Jordan Wever 4) Brayden Watson 5) Adam Stricker 6) Derek Groomer 7) Nick Allen 8) Curt Spalding 9) Levi Kissinger 10) Dylan Woodling 11) Jacoby Hines 12) Danny Swartz 13) Earl Plessinger 14) Cole Parker 15) John Clippinger 16) John DeMoss 17) Richard Gibson 18) Tony Anderson 19) Chris Cole 20) Mark Cole 21) Jacob Poel 22) Brian Shaw

Qualifying (Group #A) 1) Curt Spalding 15.491 seconds

Qualifying (Group #B) 1) Tyler Nicely 15.344 seconds

Heat Race #1 (10 Laps) – 1) Curt Spalding 2) Dylan Woodling 3) Brayden Watson 4) Danny Schwartz 5) Tony Anderson 6) John DeMoss 7) Karlie Holt 8) Austin Burton 9) Ryan Ramseyer 10) Derrick Huber 11) Pete Holt 12) Mark Cole

Heat Race #2 (10 Laps) – 1) Adam Stricker 2) Cole Falloway 3) Nick Allen 4) Brian Shaw 5) Zach Dennis 6) Zach Stalker 7) Blake Davis 8) Bryson Clark 9) Jason Highley 10) John Towbridge 11) Ryan Thomas

Heat Race #3 (10 Laps) – 1) Tyler Nicely 2) John Clippinger 3) Jacoby Hines 4) Levi Kissinger 5) Richard Gibson 6) Shawn Negangard 7) Greg Amick 8) Jarod Fleetwood 9) Chris Cole 10) Josh Morton 11) David Winters

Heat Race #4 (10 Laps) – 1) Jordan Wever 2) Derek Groomer 3) Earl Plessinger 4) Jacob Poel 5) Cole Parker 6) Jason Hollon 7) Jug Wethington 8) Sheldon Oberle 9) Bill Lewis 10) James Weintraut 11) Robert Tincher

B-Main #1 (12 Laps) – 1) John DeMoss 2) Tony Anderson 3) Zach Stalker 4) Zach Dennis 5) Ryan Ramseyer 6) Austin Burton 7) Blake Davis 8) Jason Highley 9) Derrick Huber 10) John Towbridge 11) Pete Holt 12) Bryson Clark 13) Mark Cole 14) Karlie Holt 15) Ryan Thomas

B-Main #2 (12 Laps) – 1) Cole Parker 2) Richard Gibson 3) Jarod Fleetwood 4) Shawn Negangard 5) Jason Hollon 6) Sheldon Oberle 7) Robert Tincher 8) James Weintraut 9) David Winters 10) Greg Amick 11) Bill Lewis 12) Chris Cole DNS) Jug Wethington DNS) Josh Morton

Contingency Award Winners

SPEC Race Engines (Overall Fast Qualifier) $100 Certificate: Tyler Nicely

F.A.S.T. (Opposing Group Fast Qualifier) $75 Certificate: Curt Spalding

HYPERCOILS (Heat Race #1 Winner) (1) 5″ Spring Certificate: Curt Spalding

WILLY’S CARB & DYNO (Heat Race #2 Winner) $100 Certificate: Adam Stricker

FAST SHAFTS (Heat Race #3 Winner) $75 Certificate: Tyler Nicely

AERO WHEEL (Heat Race #4 Winner) $80 Certificate: Jordan Wever

VP RACING FUELS (B-Main #1 Non-Transfer) (5) Gal of VP Fuel: Zach Stalker

SUMMIT RACING EQUIPMENT (B-Main #1 2nd Non-Transfer) $50 Gift Card: Zach Dennis

SUMMIT RACING EQUIPMENT (B-Main #1 3rd Non-Transfer) $25 Gift Card: Ryan Ramseyer

VP RACING FUELS (B-Main #2 Non-Transfer) (5) Gal of VP Fuel: Jarod Fleetwood

SUMMIT RACING EQUIPMENT (B-Main #2 2nd Non-Transfer) $50 Gift Card: Shawn Negangard

SUMMIT RACING EQUIPMENT (B-Main #2 3rd Non-Transfer) $25 Gift Card: Jason Hollon

PEM RACING (4th Place Finish) Quick Change Gear Set: Brayden Watson

MAXIMA RACING OILS (Tuff 5th Place Finish) Care Package: Adam Stricker

HOOKER HARNESS (Safe 6th Place Finish) $75 Certificate: Derek Groomer

WILWOOD DISC BRAKES (Lucky 7th Place Finish) $50 Certificate: Nick Allen

FOX RACING SHOX (Lucky 13th Place Finish) $100 Certificate: Dylan Woodling

ALLSTAR PERFORMANCE (Hard Charger) $100 Certificate: Earl Plessinger (9th – 4th)

VP RACING FUELS (Hard Luck) VP Fuel Jug: Brian Shaw

WILES DRIVESHAFTS (Longest Tow for Event) $100 Certificate: Jacob Poel

Top 10 Points after Brownstown Speedway

1. Tyler Nicely 1715

2. Danny Schwartz 1405

3. Mark Cole 1050

4. Chris Cole 995

5. Will Krup 985

6. Nick Hoffman 935

7. Jacob Rexing 920

8. Brian Shaw 880

9. John Clippinger 690

10. Mike Harrison 720


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!