Ben Watkins Wins Carolina Clash Season Opening Red Rose Rumble

March 13, 2021 at Lancaster Motor Speedway

By Cole Perkins

The Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series began their 22nd season of racing Saturday night at Lancaster Motor Speedway with the $5,000 to win Red Rose Rumble.

A collection of 18 of the best Super Late Model drivers from across the Carolina’s (and Georgia) gathered at the 1/2 mile speed-plant in pursuit of the $5,000 payday. In qualifying, Ben Watkins was fastest overall with a 18.602 second lap capturing the Ponce Pole Award for the 40-lap feature.

The Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series’ 22nd season got underway right before 9:00EST with Watkins and Brett Hamm leading the field to green. The first caution waved on just the second lap as front-runner Zack Mitchell pulled to the infield with mechanical issues under the hood, forcing him to retire early from the 40-lapper. Ben Watkins led the field back to green, after ten green flag laps the caution flag waved again on lap twelve for an incident on the front stretch involving Daulton Wilson and Adam Yarbrough.

Watkins secured the lead once again on the ensuing restart and pulled away from the field as they passed the halfway point. The final caution flag waved with less than 10 laps to go after Anthony Sanders’ Longhorn Chassis went up in smoke while running 7th. Not only was smoke coming from Sanders’ #421, but leader Ben Watkins’ #16 was starting to smoke as well.

The field was turned loose with 8 to go and all eyes were on the Wesley Page backed Longhorn Chassis of Ben Watkins, which started to smoke more and more as the laps winded down. Watkins was able to hold on for the remainder of the race, taking the checkered flag and shutting off his motor as soon as he crossed the finish line.

Ben Watkins’ $5,000 Red Rose Rumble victory was the fourth of his career with the Carolina Clash series and second at his home track.

The series heads to Friendship Motor Speedway in Elkin, NC for their next event on April 3, 2021.

Red Rose Rumble Results:
1.#16 Ben Watkins
2.#70 Jeff Smith
3.#18 Brett Hamm
4.#24D Michael Brown
5.#5 Corey Gordon
6.#16 Brian Nuttall Jr
7.#20H Bryson Harper
8.#03 David Yandle
9.#4G Kale Green
10.#4 Mike Huey
11.#421 Anthony Sanders
12.#9 Johnny Pursley
13.#18D Daulton Wilson
14.#22 Nick Schlager
15.#57 Adam Yarbrough
16.#57 Zack Mitchell
17.#06 Christian Thomas
18.#618 Kevin Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!