2020 Moments – Nichols Wins Hubert Memorial for Second Straight Year

Saturday night 38 Stock Cars gathered at the Fairbury Speedway in hopes to take home the top prize in the 11th Annual Earl J Hubert Stock Car Championship.
42 - Nichols Back to Back in Hubert Memorial - Tyson

September (By Tyson Graves)

Fairbury, IL – Saturday night 38 Stock Cars gathered at the Fairbury Speedway in hopes to take home the top prize in the 11th Annual Earl J Hubert Stock Car Championship. In the previous ten events there has never been a repeat winner. That all changed when Lovington, IL driver Jeremy Nichols crossed the finish line and picked up his second straight win in the Memorial race.

In qualifying it was Zach Zuberbier who laid down the fastest lap in Group B with a lap of 15.220 seconds. Zach was awarded the Josh Kohler Fast Time Award presented by VP Racing Fuels. In Group A it was Matt Fabrizius who had the quickest lap of 15.255 seconds.

In Heat Race #1 it was Group A fast qualifier Matt Fabrizius who brought home the win. Four cars transferred from each of the four heat races. Kevin Kerlin came home runner up. Nick Macklin and Cody Clubb were the other drivers who moved on to the feature event.

The second heat race of the night saw a former winner of the Hubert Memorial race Jerrad Krick take the heat win. Storm Beiler came across the stripe in second. White Heath, IL driver Andy Zahnd was third while Don Hileary came home four and transferred to the main event.

Attica, IN driver Megan Erwin took the win in Heat Race #3. She held off Zach Zuberbier who came home second. Another Indiana driver Jim Ranson came home third and Josh Griffith came home in the final transfer spot.
It was all Jeremy Nichols in the fourth and final heat race of the night. Joel Funk was runner up. Pontiac, IL driver Tanner Sullivan and Joe Hillman both transferred after finishing third and fourth.

It took a pair of exciting B-Mains to finalize the field for the 11th Annual event. RK Akers and former event winner Pete Odell took the wins in each of the consolation events. Andrew Funk, the inaugural event winner along with Joe Brown picked up the final spots in the 43-lap main event. One provisional was awarded to Fairbury Speedway track champion Michael Schomas.

This set the field for the 43 lap $2,000 to win main event. Matt Fabrizius and Megan Erwin led the field to green. Megan Erwin led the first lap before Fabrizius took the lead on lap two. But 2 laps later the 2018 DirtCar National Stock Car Champion Jeremy Nichols took hold of the top spot. Early on it was Joel Funk who ran in the runner up spot with Megan Erwin settled into third for most of the race.

Jeremy Nichols was out front on cruise control in the middle stages of the race, at one point he had built up a 4 to 5 second lead over the lead pack. Just past the halfway point you could see the second through fourth place cars starting to make group on leader Nichols. After the races we learned that just past halfway Nichols started to lose power steering and brakes that slowed the blistering pace he had set. The field was back within under two seconds when the caution flew and set the stage for a 13-lap shootout for $2,000.

On the restart second place running Joel Funk had issues getting going and eventually fell back through the field and pulled into the infield calling it a night. This moved Megan Erwin back up into second and ninth place starting Nick Macklin was in third. After pulling away on the initial restart Erwin and Macklin reeled in Nichols with five laps to go. Erwin and Macklin put on a show for the fans exchanging slide jobs at both ends of the track as they tried to run down Jeremy. Macklin was able to get away from Erwin and on the last lap and a half of the race made a bid to get around Nichols. In lap traffic Macklin was able to get up alongside Nichols going into the last set of corners. Nick put on a slide job in the final corner but could not quite clear Nichols. Jeremy came off turn four and took the win with Macklin coming home in second. Erwin rounded out the podium in third. Bobby Beiler finished fourth and Matt Fabrizius who started on the pole finished fifth.

Feature Finish

1 #67R Jeremy Nichols

2 #16 Nick Macklin

3 #14 Megan Erwin

4 #B26 Bobby Beiler

5 #615 Matt Fabrizius

6 #23A Andrew Funk

7 #2Z Andy Zahnd

8 #37 Peter Odell

9 #21K Don Hilleary

10 #4Z Zachary Zuberbier

11 #34 Kevin Kerlin

12 #23 Cody Clubb

13 #20 Tanner Sullivan

14 #97 Josh Griffith

15 #99K Jerrad Krick

16 #01 Joe Hillman

17 #F5 Michael Schomas

18 #B9 Joe Brown

19 #23JR Joel Funk

20 #14A RJ Akers

21 #Y2J Jim Ransom

Photo: Tyson Graves


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!